To start with, a story…

Alongside our CROIX MOUGNE vineyards, there remain a few traces of a chapel that was revered by our ancestors. It was said to have the peculiar power to cure the human body of many different diseases. In order to cure a person, you just had to place one of their belongings in a niche carved into the wall of the nave.

At the village crossroads, a cross pointed the way to the chapel hidden in the forest. One day, a winemaker living near the village decided, as a few others in the Charentes region were doing at the time, to distill his wine in order to produce the eau de vie which would become Cognac. The virtues of this new elixir appealed to the pilgrims’ quest for fulfillment, and they all quickly forgot the way to the chapel.

Then one day, the angry skies opened up, bringing down the vengeful lightning bolt, and the arm pointing the way to miracles was forever amputated from the cross. The cross was reduced to a stump, or moignon, and in the local language it became the “CROIX MOUGNE”.

A Family Operation

Our family has been raising grapes in the town of Nercillac for seven generations. Our oldest archives date to the 18th century.

Today, the estate spreads out over 25 hectares. Located in the cru of Fins Bois, 6km from Cognac and 9km from Jarnac, the estate has a calcareous clay soil and an exceptional microclimate. Our vineyard is run using integrated pest management for the best possible respect for our environment.

The grapes are pressed immediately after harvest in traditional presses. The resulting juice is allowed to ferment immediately. Afterward, our Cognac and Pineau wines are produced, with respect for tradition.

Au départ, une histoire…

Jouxtant nos vignobles de la « CROIX MOUGNE » quelques vestiges témoignent aujourd’hui d’une chapelle que vénéraient nos ancêtres. Celle ci détenait l’étrange pouvoir de guérir le corps humain de maintes maladies. Pour que s’accomplisse le mystère, il suffisait de déposer au creux de niches creusées dans les murs de la nef un effet appartenant au malade.

A la croisée des chemins du village, une croix indiquait l’orientation de la chapelle masquée par la forêt. Un jour, un vigneron du plus proche hameau décida, à la manière de quelques charentais de l’époque de brûler son vin pour en recueillir cette eau de vie qui devint Cognac. Les vertus de l’élixir nouveau séduisirent la quête de plénitude des anciens pèlerins de la chapelle qui tous en oublièrent rapidement le chemin.

Alors, les cieux en colère se déchirèrent pour que jaillisse l’éclair vengeur qui amputa à jamais la croix du bras indicateur de miracles. La croix se fit « moignon » et dans le langage populaire se baptisa « CROIX MOUGNE ».

Une exploitation familiale

Depuis 7 générations notre famille cultive la vigne sur la commune de Nercillac. Nos 1ères archives dates du 18ème siècle.

Aujourd’hui le domaine s’étend sur 25 hectares. Situé dans le cru Fins Bois à 6kms de Cognac et 9kms de Jarnac, il bénéficie d’un terroir argilo-calcaires et d’un microclimat exceptionnel. Notre vignoble est conduit en lutte raisonnée pour le plus grand respect de notre environnement.

Le pressurage des grappes est effectué immédiatement après la récolte dans des pressoirs traditionnels. Le jus obtenu est mis à fermenter aussitôt. Vient ensuite l’élaboration de nos Cognac et Pineau, dans le respect de la tradition.